Capsule wardrobe fans: Three critical rules to know to be successful

Abi Khait
6 min readApr 9, 2019

For all the lovers of the minimalist wardrobe concept who want to discover the latest trends on how to build a capsule wardrobe, this is the article to read. I will review two expert’s articles and identify the critical rules to follow to create your minimalist closet successfully.

Let me start with my own wardrobe story first. As I was researching this subject, I became curious about my closet. I think of myself as the one who has a good sense of style and fashion and is a smart mindful shopper. I was sure that I could be an excellent example of a small (not capsule) wardrobe with essential items. This theory could not have been further from the truth. LOL.

My closet in the master bedroom is small. It contains my go-to items and blazers. If I want to wear any of my dresses, skirts, or slacks, I dive into my kids closet. I conquered a corner of their closet to store a “few” items. Smart, right?

As I was going through all the closets and clothing drawers, I got increasingly worried. In the end, the number of items I possessed scared me: I got 29 dresses, 39 t-shirts, 32 tops & blouses, eight skirts, 15 various pants, nine blazers, and six coats/jackets. OMG. I could not believe these numbers. I need to audit my wardrobe — this will be another post.

The upside of this closet review is I got to organize my wardrobe. I gathered related items together and sorted them by color. I did get rid of a few things, but given the…

--

--

Abi Khait

Fashion & Beauty Enthusiast. Organization Freak. Chocolate Lover. My Blog: https://www.updateyourstyle.com